NaNoWriMo Update

Guys, November has been flying by. I’ve been so swamped with school work, graduation project panic, camp work, writing, and Robotics, I haven’t had the time to sit down and write a blog post.

School has been crazy. The workload is bearable, but school isn’t fun anymore. I remember when I was an excited little sprout, who loved education and classwork. I’m not that person anymore. In fact, school is just a lot of pressure. My graduation project needs some serious work done, but I don’t have time.

Where has all my time gone, you may ask? Well, I’m training people in media up at camp this 4.12 year at all of the retreats. Unfortunately, three of these fell during November. All in a row. I finally have a weekend off, but I have two more in a row following. It’s been a blast, but it’s also exhausting.

Because weekends are normally prime writing time for me, I’ve been falling behind a bit with NaNoWriMo. In fact, I just caught up to where I need to be for today, and now I’m taking a break. I haven’t had a single Saturday where I took hours to write. So, I guess I’m doing well. My mother is the sweetest woman ever, who allowed me to slide on all of my chores this month: officially. Just so I’d have more writing time.

Robotics, meanwhile, has been crazy. We have a ton of meetings, it feels like. A ton of things to work on. A ton of things to accomplish. Worst of all, my area of expertise–strategy–is getting the short-end of the attention stick. Most people are more interested in being involved in mechanical, or electrical, or software. Even three-dimensional design work has more takers than strategy. Our only dedicated strategists are female, and it’s hard to think that something that is so vital and beneficial for our team’s success is being neglected.

I respect the importance of all the other divisions that work to make a robot. They are all vital to our team. Strategy, however, is beneficial. They can design, prototype, program, fabricate, and create a working robot: that’s not the issue. Without a proper strategy, however, we won’t be able to succeed at competitions.

However, that’s a soapbox issue for another time.

Meanwhile, NaNoWriMo has been presenting me with plenty of struggles. This is my big year: 50K. I worry about the story, and if the message I’m conveying is cohesive. But it’s better to leave that up to God.

I hope November has found you less busy that I am, and I wish you a blessed Thanksgiving with friends and family. I’ll be back soon!

Leave a Reply

