Love

Since today is Valentine’s Day, I figured I’d be cliche and post about love. However, since I have no significant other, and the kind of relationships generally celebrated on this day haven’t even been on my mind lately, I figured I’d share about the kind of love that has been on my heart.

Christians are called to love others. 1 Corinthians 13 says that if we don’t have love, we have nothing. More and more, I feel that we aren’t showing this kind of love.

As human beings, we have the desire to be considered “okay”. That we’re “good”, we don’t have to worry about ourselves. Often, this takes form in our thinking, “Well, I’m pretty bad, but at least I’m not as bad as so-and-so.” This is not a loving thing to do. This kind of mindset translates into how we interact with these people, how we treat them.

Homosexuality. That is a lifestyle choice that is very outward, is greatly debated and disagreed on. And some Christians look at it in the way of, “Hey, I sin, but at least I haven’t committed that sin.” And how do we treat these people, who God created, loves, and designed? We respond without love, without hope.

Psalm 71:14-15 says, “As for me, I will always have hope; I will praise you more and more. My mouth will tell of your righteous deeds, of your saving acts all day long— though I know not how to relate them all.”

Do we tell of God’s saving acts all day long? Is that how we interact with people? Sharing hope and love? Or do we jump to judgement, comparison, and hatred?

Sin is a lifestyle choice, whether it is outward or not. Gossip is a lifestyle. Lying is a lifestyle. Addiction is a lifestyle. Homosexuality is a lifestyle.

Maybe this Valentine’s Day, examine how you love people within your life. Who has God given you to love? Are you telling of his love, of his saving acts, all day long? Are you offering hope and love?

Romans 5:8. But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.

Leave a Reply

