Bridesmaids

Obviously, I’m much too young to be getting married. Besides the fact that I don’t have a significant other (or anyone remotely interested in becoming one), I’m only sixteen. Marriage isn’t really on the to-do list at this point.

However, I do think about weddings, sometimes. How, when we’re young, we promise our best friends that they’ll be our bridesmaids, and when we get older, our friends sometimes create their toasts before a guy has even been located.

What if it was some kind of tradition to make your bridesmaids every best or close friend you’d had throughout your lifetime?

Would you be in contact with them? And would they even say yes when you asked them?

I’ve had many best friends over the years. Most of them are not still in my life. Some, I don’t even know how to contact. And something about the entire idea makes me terribly sad, knowing that the people I was so close with when I was younger, aren’t anymore. And those that I’m close with now, won’t be in the future.

Don’t forget to cherish the time you have with people. You’ll blink, and your list of bridesmaids that you create in your head will remind you of all those left behind. Don’t have regrets.

Leave a Reply

