Emojis and Emotions (and Cookies)

So, I messaged an author on Facebook for advice on formatting Kindle ebooks, and she actually answered me.

I AM SO EXCITED.

Now, if you could actually see me, you’d know that I’m standing at the stove. I plunked my laptop onto the counter so that I could pour a glass of milk, and I’m eating some chocolate chip cookies I baked yesterday. My face is a cross between Grumpy Cat Blank and zombie.

I just messaged a couple of friends to tell them how excited I am. And I am! Internally! And it’s translating through my fingers, I suppose. Because I just put another bite of cookie in my mouth, and I look as bland as a celery stick.

As a member of my generation (I left the word proud out on purpose), I am constantly immersed in technology. It’s everywhere. It’s how I communicate with my friends. How I write my novels. How I even do my devos in the morning. I always thought of myself as a pretty self-aware kid. I certainly wasn’t that kid on her phone, texting her friends when she could be socializing with the people around her.

…oh, wait. That was me, last night, at a drive-in movie. Sitting with my cousin, but preferring an online conversation with someone “inside” my father’s phone over human contact.

Am I still self-aware? Was I ever self-aware? Have I always been this way?

Pardon me while I pop another bite of cookie in my mouth and continue to write this out like am emotionless zombie.

Wait, I use emotions all the time online! I mean, Facebook stickers are pretty great. And emojis? Forget about it!

No, seriously: forget about it. That’s not real emotion.

I feel brainwashed, willingly brainwashed, to this technology I surround myself with. I’ve exchanged human contact for a funny text. Emotions for emojis. Excitement for the ability to type words that sound excited, but in reality are coming from a girl in a pair of sweats downing a glass of milk and a cookie.

Why not spend my time seeking the Lord? Engaging with the people He put on this earth?

After this little cookie-revelation fiasco, that’s how I’d like to spend my time. Re-sensitizing myself to life, and the plan God created.

Because emojis don’t live up to emotion.

(And I’ve finished my cookie.)

