School Pride

This week is School Pride week at my place of education–and who knows, maybe several other places of education are also holding a school pride week. To celebrate, they announced that students may enter a photo contest showing their school pride. The photos would be posted to Facebook, and the most likes by the end of the week would win an iPad mini.

I’m also currently losing the contest badly. I can’t compete with pets that some people so craftily included (I kid, I kid). And as much as I will say that I’m a mean high schooler who will willingly crush small children’s dreams, I’m not so sure I care about the contest anymore.

In an attempt to rally voters, I’ve tried to make my case. Why people should “vote” for my photo. And I’ve realized how much my school has done for me in so many aspects.

When I was really, really little, I met a family that became my best friends for several years. They had five kids, and as an only child, their house was amazing to me. I probably wouldn’t have run into them anywhere else, and would have lost that fun friendship that I still hold today.

When I got a little bit older, maybe fifth grade, I met my next best friend. We did everything together until she moved across the country three years later. She was actually a really close neighbor, but I wouldn’t have ever gone poking at the doors to find her. School made that happen.

In seventh grade, I joined a club in a group called SOAR. It was headed up by one of my favorite teachers, and they told us about this really cool thing: National Novel Writing Month. I quickly came up with a story idea, and with the support of SOAR, wrote my first novel.

Even in eighth grade, after SOAR had been dismantled, I wrote another novel in a month. The flexibility that my school has always provided me helped me with that. Even without SOAR, my school was still pushing me forward.

Ninth grade was a good year. I made a buddy-like pact with two guys. One of them had been in SOAR, too, and the other one was a guy from my Robotics Team, but I wouldn’t have ever been friends with him without school. They were my go-to people for help with Math, and we always worked together in English class. Even though the group of three Chess-Keteers might get split up in the future, it was so valuable in my freshmen year.

And now, this year, my tenth grade year, one I’m still experiencing. My school still has Writer’s Nook, a huge help with my writing. There’s nothing like reading a piece that your characters say with all the emotion you can muster and your peers giving you a burst of applause.

I’m so grateful to my school, and I can’t really say “thank you” enough for all the experiences you’ve given me through SOAR, outings, and with some of the amazing teachers I’ve had.

I know that probably wasn’t as cool as a dog with a pencil in his mouth ready to get some learn on. But it’s the truth. And I’m glad I said it.

Leave a Reply

