Can’t Do a Thing Without God

So, I just completed National Novel Writing Month through the Young Writers Program, and I’m feeling pretty excited about having another novel finished. This one, I feel, has the best message yet, and I’ve learned a lot about different writing styles, especially from Jenny B. Jones. I mean, four novels. That’s pretty fantastic, right?

Except I didn’t do it alone.

Sure, there wasn’t anyone else typing for me. But I am very willing to report that this novel, especially, I was able to recognize God’s hand.

There are some small details that I would just pluck out–the first things that came to my head. Some random scenes I added for fun, and to keep the book interesting. And without my doing a second of planning–and believe me, I love planning–everything lined up.

It’s amazing! And you know, it would be cool to take credit for that. But it would be even cooler to give credit where credit is due.

I totally didn’t make those details line up. I’m in the middle of NaNoWriMo. I’m not thinking! I’m trying to reach an insane word-count goal while balancing all the other things I do, and I’m eating a lot of Oreos. Seriously, I must mention Oreos in my book, what, at least seventeen times?

Some may argue that it’s luck, or coincidence, or the “lining up” of all the sugar elements in Oreo cookies and the insanity in my brain. But I know, beyond a shadow of a doubt, that my book is a thousand times better because of God.

That’s a pretty great feeling. A writing partner who’ll never let me down, and always increases the value of my work.

To me, that sounds better than coincidence.

Leave a Reply

