It Came as But a Whisper…

So, I don’t know about you, but when I think of outlook change, I think of fireworks.

Call me crazy, but I’ve always viewed this kind of “revelation” to your worldview as something that just–bam. It happens. Suddenly, you realize where you had a flaw in the way you saw the world, and you just kind of go, “Wow! I can’t wait to tell somebody!”

Maybe that’s because I’ve never really experienced a “revelation”. To my memory, anyway.

But I’ve experienced it now. And boy, it’s certainly not fireworks.

It starts out small. Over the course of the time–maybe even years–you gain little experiences that add up in your mind. You don’t notice anything wrong. You might look at the world and think, “Man. Everything is really messed up.” And then one day, it hits you. And when it hit me, it was like the complete blossoming and unfolding of a flower. No fireworks. Just this unbelievably fantastic idea in my head, and that phrase: “Wow. I can’t wait to tell somebody.”

This little revelation of mine–it came as a whisper. A small, unfolding flower that had been growing in my mind. And now? Now it’s a part of my worldview. How I see the world, and everyone around me. Constantly.

You know, I’m kind of glad it came the way it did. I’m glad I can see where God put this realization into my life, through bits and pieces.

And maybe, sometimes, revelation is like fireworks.

But I’m glad my first came the way it did.

Leave a Reply

