Sweaty Toothed Mad Man

My father is the pastor of the small church that we’ve attended since before I was born. He tends to find kingdom principles in pretty much everything, and it’s how I’ve been raised. As I’ve gotten older, I’ve learned to looked at things that don’t particularly have a God stamp on them and say, “Oh, yeah. There’s God in that.”

One example of this is my English class. It’s a pretty awesome class; we hardly ever learn about things like grammar or vocabulary. You’ll never log in to English and hear the teacher say, “Ready to dissect some sentences for an hour and a half?” I guess that makes sense–it is a Literature class.

That being said, the class studies a lot of works by various authors, looking at the philosophical aspects and opening the writings up to interpretation. I mean, what do you expect? God has nearly entirely been disconnected from school.

Anyway, we have this really cool quote from a dude named Emerson (also known as a sweaty toothed mad man), and it states, “Envy is ignorance…imitation is suicide.”

Isn’t that a cool quote? After a bit of dissection, you can practically hear a pop star singing, “Follow your heart” in the background. Maybe a couple of fireworks here and there. Because the quote is saying to be yourself. Don’t envy other people! Admire yourself. Don’t imitate other people! That’s cutting off what makes you you.

Now, to bring my awesome dad into this, who can even find kingdom principles in a football game–he’s raised me to see these principles. Maybe he’s not even trying to do so, but he is. And so when I see this quote, I see God.

Don’t envy other people. Why do you want to be what others are? God has a fantastic plan for your life. That’s right, a plan for you. You, right there. The one reading this. Why would you want to imitate others and give up on what God has for you? Why ignore his plan? Why sacrifice yourself and who He made you to be, all because someone else’s grass looked a little bit greener?

This quote by the sweaty toothed mad man could be shown in Jeremiah 29:11.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

Add God into the equation. He’s going to be there, anyway.

Leave a Reply

